Multinational Design Evaluation Programme (MDEP)

2nd MDEP Conference on New Reactor Design Activities

OECD Conference Centre Room CC12 15-16 September 2011

Programme

OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) Technical Secretariat

15 September 2011

SESSION 1

Chair: Mr. André-Claude Lacoste, MDEP Policy Group (PG) Chair, President, ASN

09:00 - 10:00 Welcome and opening of conference

- Welcoming remarks Mr. Luis Echávarri, Director-General, OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA)
- MDEP Policy Group (PG) Chair, Introductory remarks and overview of the MDEP
 Mr. André-Claude Lacoste, MDEP PG Chair, President, Autorité de Sureté Nucléaire (ASN)
- PG member round table All PG members and representatives*

SESSION 2 (Part I)

Chair: Mr. Bo Tang, China PG representative, Deputy Director-General NNSA

10:00 – 11:00 MDEP activities and accomplishments of the designspecific working groups (EPR and AP1000 working groups)

- Presentation by the MDEP on activities and accomplishments
 - Mr. Petteri Tiippana, Chair of the EPRWG, STUK
 - Ms. Eileen McKenna, Chair of the AP1000WG, US NRC

11:00 - 11:15 Break

* Mr. Bo Tang, Deputy Director General, NNSA (China); Mr. Terry Jamieson, Vice-President, CNSC (Canada); Mr. Jukka Laaksonen, Director-General, STUK (Finland); Mr. André-Claude Lacoste, President, ASN (France); Mr. Koichiro Nakamura, Deputy Director-General, Nuclear Safety, NISA (Japan); Mr. Youn-Won Park, Director of International Nuclear Safety Division, KINS (Korea); Dr. Nikolay Kutin, Chairman, Rostechnadzor (Russian Federation); Mr. Boyce Mkhize, CEO, NNR (South Africa); Dr. Mike Weightman, HM Chief Inspector, ONR (United Kingdom); Mr. Gregory B. Jaczko, Chairman, US NRC (United States).

SESSION 2 (Part II)

Chair: Mr. Jukka Laaksonen, Finland PG member, Director-General, STUK, Chair, Western European Nuclear Regulators Association (WENRA)

11:15 – 12:30 Design-specific activities panel

- Panel discussion on new reactor designs and evaluations MDEP representatives:
 - Mr. Thomas Houdré, France, Steering Technical Committee (STC) Member, ASN
 - Mr. Dave Newland, Canada STC Member, CNSC

Industry representatives:

- Mr. François Bouteille, Senior Vice-President Safety & Licensing, AREVA
- Mr. Sandy Rupprecht, Vice-President, AP1000 Product Delivery Systems, Westinghouse Electric Company
- Mr. Christopher Bakken, Project Director Hinkley Point C, Nuclear Build Operations, EDF Energy
- Mr. Dingjin Hu, Director, TNPJVC, Paris Office

12:30 – 14:00 Lunch

SESSION 3

Chair: Mr. Nikolay Kutin, Russia PG member, Chair, Rostechnadzor

14:00 – 15:00 MDEP activities and accomplishments of the Digital Instrumentation and Control Working Group (DICWG)

- Presentation by the MDEP on activities and accomplishments - Mr. Dan Santos, Chair of the DICWG, US NRC
- Panel discussion on digital I&C topics

MDEP representatives:

- Mr. Dave Watson, UK STC member, ONR
- Mr. Petteri Tiippana, Finland STC member, STUK

Industry and standards development organisation representatives:

- Mr. Jean-Paul Bouard, IEC SC45A Secretary, IEC
- Mr. Kookhun Kim, Vice-President, Doosan Heavy Industries and Construction

15:00 - 15:30 Break

SESSION 4

Chair: Mr. Boyce Mkhize, South Africa PG member, CEO, NNR

15:30 – 17:00 MDEP activities and accomplishments of the mechanical Codes and Standards Working Group (CSWG)

- Presentations on activities and accomplishments - Mr. Xuejun Wei, Chair of the CSWG, CNSC
- Panel discussion on codes and standards topics

MDEP representatives:

- Dr. Kiyoharu Abe, Japan STC member, JNES
- Mr. Bo Tang, China STC Member, NNSA

Representatives from standards development organisations (SDOs):

- Mr. Masaki Morishita, Deputy Director-General, JAEA, JSME representative
- Ms. Cecile Laugier, President, AFCEN

WNA/CORDEL representative, short presentation on CORDEL's pilot project:

- Mr. Nawal Prinja, Technical Director, AMEC/Hindustan Construction Company (HCC)

17:00 – 17:15 Break

SESSION 5

Chair: Mr. Mike WEIGHTMAN, United Kingdom PG member, HM Chief Nuclear Inspector, ONR

17:15 - 18:15 Fukushima-related issues

- Presentation and update on the Fukushima accident and recovery
 - Mr. Koichiro Nakamura, Japan PG member, Deputy Director-General, NISA
- Panel discussion

MDEP representatives:

- Mr. Gregory Jaczko, United States PG member, US NRC Chair
- Mr. Jukka Laaksonen, Finland PG member, Chair, STUK and WENRA
- Dr. Youn-Won Park, Korea PG representative

World Association of Nuclear Operators (WANO) representative: - Mr. Laurent Stricker, WANO Chairman

_____, _____, _____, _____

18:30 Reception in the Espace Expresso

16 September 2011

SESSION 6

Chair: Mr. Terry Jamieson, Canada PG Member, Vice-President, CNSC

09:00 – 10:15 MDEP activities and accomplishments of the Vendor Inspection Co-operation Working Group (VICWG)

- Presentation by the MDEP on activities and accomplishments - Mr. Sungho Yang, Chair of the VICWG, KINS
- Panel discussion on vendor inspection co-operation topics MDEP representatives:
 - Mr. Yury Meltsov (VO "Safety"), Russia STC representative and VICWG member
 - Mr. Sébastien Crombez (ASN), France STC member

Vendor representatives:

- Mr. Tsuyoshi Nakamura, General Manager, JSW
- Mr. Sukkwan Kim, Vice-President, NPP Quality Control, Doosan Heavy Industries and Construction

10:15 - 10:30 Break

SESSION 7

Chair: Mr. Michael Micklingoff, Chair, WNA/CORDEL

10:30 - 12:30 Industry initiatives on new reactor designs

- CORDEL activities CORDEL vision and action plan on activities outside those given in individual presentations:
 - Mr. Raidis Zemdegs, AECL and CORDEL member

International industry licensing survey:

- Mr. Christian Raetzke, Co-chairman of the WNA task force on licensing and permitting

Safety classification:

- Mr. Jan Pauly, E.On and representative of the joint FORATOM-ENISS and WNA/CORDEL Group
- Industries activities panel

MDEP representatives:

- Mr. Gary Holahan United States STC chair, US NRC
- Mr. Peter Bester, South Africa STC member, NNR

Industry representatives:

- Ms. Marjo Mustonen, OL3 Nuclear Safety Manager and Director of Construction, TVO
- Mr. Jerry Head, Senior Vice-President, Regulatory Affairs, GE-Hitachi Nuclear Energy
- Mr. Xavier Pouget-Abadie, Senior Safety Advisor, EDF

12:30 – 14:00 Lunch

SESSION 8

Chair: Mr. Gregory Jaczko, United States PG member, US NRC

14:00 – 15:30 Concluding panel

MDEP PG representative:

- Mr. André-Claude Lacoste, MDEP PG Chair

Reactor vendor representative:

- Mr. Luc Oursel, President and CEO, AREVA

Licensee representative:

- Mr. Dominique Lagarde, Director of New Nuclear Engineering, EDF

SDO representative:

- Mr. Masaki Morishita, Deputy Director-General, JAEA and JSME representative

Regulatory authority representative:

- Mr. Bajaj, Chairman, AERB

WENRA representative:

- Mr. Jukka Laaksonen, Chair, WENRA

NEA representative:

- Mr. Luis Echávarri, Director-General, OECD/NEA

- 15:30 16:00 Break
- **16:00 Conclusion and closing of the conference** Mr. André-Claude Lacoste, MDEP PG Chair, President, ASN
- 16:30 End of conference

OECD Nuclear Energy Agency

12, boulevard des Îles 92130 Issy-les-Moulineaux, France Tel.: +33 (0)1 45 24 10 15 – Fax: +33 (0)1 45 24 11 10 E-mail: nea@oecd-nea.org – Internet: www.oecd-nea.org